maclarnon cupOur Lady’s Secondary School in Castleblayney displayed great skill against Patrician, Carrickmacross in the prestigious MacLarnon Cup on Tuesday 17th March in the Athletic Grounds in Armagh.

Up until 1960 the only Colleges Football Competition at Senior Level was the MacRory Cup. In an effort to address the emerging trend of schools wanting to compete but who did not have the necessary resources or numbers, The MacLarnon Cup was introduced by Dean MacLarnon in 1959.

School principal and main coach Eddie Kelly said “It was a top class display from start to finish”. His side were on course for their second win, having won the same title exactly ten years ago in 2005. Incidentally this was the first time that two schools from Monaghan have contested this cup.

With the final score Our Lady’s Castleblayney 4-8 and Patrician Carrickmacross 0-8, we wish to congratulate the team on their notable success.

Our Lady’s : J Lavelle, E McNally, E McKearney, E McCann, D Friskey, B Kerr, D Ward, J Leonard, C Marray, R Murphy, B McGinn 1-6, 0-3 frees, J Walshe 1-0, J Wilson 1-0, M Bannigan 1-1, F Connolly.
Subs : A Courtney for B McGinn (29), B McGinn for A Courtney (ht), A Courtney 0-1 for R Murphy (56), B Rice for J Walshe (56), J Gorman for J Leonard.